BJD Candidates List 2019 (2ND PHASE)

bjd candidates list

The Chief Minister and Party President  Mr. Naveen Pattanaik has already declared more candidates names for the first two phases of 2019 general polls in Odisha. The rulling BJD had already announced the names of candidates for 9 loka sabha  and 54 assembly seats . This time BJD has refused tickets to 3 of its sitting MLAs and introduced 4 new faces in its 2nd candidates lists for 9 Assembly Segments.

 According to Source, Malkangiri MLA Manas Madkami, Lanjigarh MLA Balabhadra Majhi and Pottangi MLA Prafulla Kumar Pangi  were refused tickets and dropped following negative reports. In Malkangiri, the BJD has determined to field Mukudi Sodi, who rejoined BJD recently while for Lanjigarh BJD has nominated new recruit Pradip Kumar Dishari. By abandoning the Congress, Pritam Padhi has joined in BJD and will make his electoral debut from Pottangi.

bjd candidates list
BJD candidates List- 2nd phase

The BJD has fielded sitting MLA Rohit Pujari  again as its candidate for Rairakhol seat while BJD’s Jharsuguda district unit president and three times MLA Kishore Mohanty will fight elections from Brajarajnagar assembly this year. Raseswari  Panigrahi, who is the solitary woman candidate in the 9 names declared by Party president Shri Naveen Pattanaik, will once again contest from Sambalpur seat.

Arkesh Narayan Singh Deo, a newcomer in politics,  has been nominated  as a BJD candidate to take on congress veteran and sitting MLA Narasingha Mishra in Bolangir assembly constituency  while Prakash Chandra Majhi, brother of State SC/ST development  minister Ramesh Majhi will contest elections from Jharigaon.

For Loisingha, the BJD has chosen to give short shrift to former minister and five-times MLA Jogendra Behera, who had opted out for electoral politics and had wished the BJD leadership to think about his youngest son Nihar Ranjan in his seat . The party has also decided to pick Pradeep Behera, a  new entrant in politics for Loisingha, a reserved constituency for SC candidates. The BJD is yet to declare candidates for Phulbani and Biramitrapur assembly seats under Kandhamal and Sundargarh parliamentary constituencies, respectively. On April 18, these two seats will go to the polls in the 2nd phase.

Read More : Biju Janata Dal (BJD) Candidates List (1St Phase) 2019 Election : A Miscellaneous of Old and New Candidates of BJD