Odisha Congress Legislator Mohammed Moquim Votes For NDA’s Droupadi Murmu

Odisha Congress Legislator Mohammed Moquim Votes For NDA’s Droupadi Murmu

“I have listened to my heart,” says Odisha’s Congress MLA Mohammed Moquim when asked about Votes For NDA’s Droupadi Murmu.

Congress MLA from Cuttack, Odisha Mohammed Moquim today went against the party line and voted for Droupadi Murmu, also from Odisha. “It’s my personal decision as I listened to my heart, which guided me to do something for the soil, and that’s why I vote for her,” he said.

In these elections, voters are Members of Parliament or state legislators. Parties cannot issue binding whips to their candidates, so the anti-defection law does not apply. Voting is held by secret ballot either in the parliament or within individual state legislatures until 5 pm, and counting then begins immediately afterward.”

Santhal leader Droupadi Murmu is set to become the first directly-elected Santhal president after her early lead in the election seems assured of overcoming Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Yashwant Sinha.

A former BJP leader and Jharkhand governor to-be, only Ms. Murmu needs over 60% of the vote to win. Her success depends mainly on the strength of her supporters, who agree with her views and policies. The NDA initially came up short in votes but made gains as members decided that they agreed with her values.

Yesterday, Yashwant Sinha said he wanted to gather support from every corner. He reminded people that he was once a BJP member and appealed to the voters’ “individual conscience.” By saying so, he had pointed out how he wanted everyone together who wanted to protect “India’s Constitution and its values.”

President Election Results will be announced on July 21. The term of current President Ramnath Kovind ends on July 24.